William Wordswoth ” Simon Lee”

This poem is relating to how compassion people could be if they just took the time out of their own lives to look around and see what was going happening around them. In this poem a poor old man and his wife as decrepit as they were lived alone and never asked for a helping hand; but the moment a stranger came to their aid it was heart felt and well appreciated.

“Your overtasked, good Simon Lee,
Give me your tool” to him I said,
And at the word right gladly he
Received my proffer’d aid.
I stuck, and with a single blow
The tangled root I sever’d,
At which the poor old man so long
And vainly had endeavour’d.

The tears into his eyes were brought,
And thanks and praises seemed to run
So fast out of his heart, I thought
They never would be done.
-I’ve heard of hearts unkind, kind deeds
With coldness still returning.
Alas! the gratitude of men
Has oftner left me mourning.

This just goes to show that no matter how awful the things are that people might do, a single good deed that takes place just overwhelms your heart and expectations, just to know that someone is there and that they care, when many others have just looked down on you. This type of behavior has taken place since the beginning of times, and is still seen everyday in our society and it is up to our generation to change the perception of us being unconscionable. Though people are not often kind and compassionate, we need to give a helping hand to those who need it, and we would be cold and heartless if we didn’t.