Alfred, Lord Tennyson “Break, Break Break”

I personally find this writer to be quite morbid, I feel as if he is trying to say that everyone is going to die so “O well”
How does one look at people and say
“O well for the fisherman’s boy,
That he shouts with his sister at play!
O well for the sailor lad,
That he sings in his boat on the bay” (p595 lines 5-8)
It is as if he is saying everyone dies, so why be broken up about it. I some sense I guess I could relate because I try not to get attached to people or things, but I wouldn’t go as far as to say “O well” at the thought of people perishing. Maybe he just doesn’t want to be bother with dealing with the emotions that are entailed with death and he just sees it as a part of life.

“Break, break, break
At the foot of thy crags, O Sea!
But the tender grace of a day that is dead
Will never come back to me” (p595. lines 13-16)
Here it is as if he is resentful of the fact when something/someone is dead that they will no longer be and there is an eternal void. But then again I might just be wrong, is he talking about life on a whole or just about a dead day at sea?